Baking day and muesli slice

Today’s baking was more about getting the house warmer with the oven on. I’d been asked by my dad to make muesli slice like we used to have when we were growing up, so I got the ingredients and dug out the old recipe book.

Muesli slice

This recipe used to be in Mum’s old magazine clip out recipe scrapbook. There was generally always some in the the house, if it survived the day it was made. Back then, I could easily eat many pieces of this. I wouldn’t nowadays, but I have also changed the original slightly to make it a little bit more Erin-friendly.

Ingredients
1 cup untoasted muesli
1 & 1/4 cup self-raising flour
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup coconut (desiccated or shredded, up to you)
50g dried fruit such as raisins, apricots etc
2 tbsp brown sugar
185g butter
2 tbsp rice malt syrup
1 egg

Method
1. Mix muesli, flour, oats, coconut, chopped fruit and sugar in a bowl.
2. Melt butter and rice malt syrup together over a low heat. Remove from heat and stir in a lightly beaten egg. Pour into muesli mixture and mix.
3. Spread into a baking paper lined lamington tin and press firmly (28x18cm). Put some choc bits on top if wanted.
4. Cook in a 150’C oven for about 12-15 mins. Allow to cool then cut into squares.

At the same time I’ve been trying to use up 1kg of coconut flour that I won months ago, so I searched through my Pinterest for recipes to try – finding the brownies shown.
Coconut flour brownies
I probably didn’t put enough liquid into these, they were a little dry, but some time in the fridge looks like it will help these along. Good if you like dark chocolate as they have that bitter taste of raw cacao, but I think they weren’t sweet enough for the husband :p I quite liked them 🙂

I also needed something yummy for snacks and I had a heap of zucchini. Again Pinterest to the rescue, searching zucchini + thermomix (as I love using it still).
Zucchini, cheese and bacon mini quiches
I made 25 mini muffin size and 16 muffin size (although on the small side). I cooked the mini ones for 10 mins and larger ones for 16 minutes. I also replaced half the sr flour with quinoa flour and 1/2 tsp baking powder. And these are yummy! And got even better as they cooled. I know what I’m having for work tomorrow 🙂

P.s if you’re interested my Pinterest link is here

Leave a Reply

